Skip to content

Quartetto Rossi at Cratfield: 31 July 2016

When the London Haydn Quartet had to withdraw from its concert for us this year, the cellist from the Badke Quartet, Jonathan Byers, offered to bring three original instrument colleagues to Cratfield as the Quartetto Rossi, offering a closely similar quartet programme in place of the LHQ.

The performers are:

Michael Gurevich and James Toll violins
Simone Jandl viola
Jonathan Byers cello

Michael has played for us twice before (and is second violin of the LHQ), as has Jonathan many times in his Badke Quartet role.  Their programme demonstrates the development (some would say perfection) of string quartet writing in Vienna in the second half of the eighteenth century:

Haydn, String quartet in C op 64 (‘Tost’) no 1
Haydn, String quartet in G minor op 20 (‘Sun’) no 3


Mozart, String quartet in E flat K428

For more details, click here for the full concert page.